Solved

the default subclient

• 21 March 2021
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +8

Im a rookie commvault user.

What does the “\” back slash represent for the Default subclient of a Windows agent.  Does this mean it will back up all local drives  (c:\, D:\ and e:\ etc...) along with system state?..   Well I see system state is check box is selected so thats a no brainer..  

Our server has has multiple.. local drives (C, D, and E) and I didnt know if I needed to create subclients to back these drives up?   

I know I could just run a test backup but we arent there just yet with our s3 bucket...

Thanks in advance

BC

icon

Best answer by dude 21 March 2021, 01:56

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +13

The standard default subclient will backup all disk drives. So c:,d:,e:,etc.

So no need to create different subclients for that.

Badge +15

Im a rookie commvault user.

What does the “\” back slash represent for the Default subclient of a Windows agent.  Does this mean it will back up all local drives  (c:\, D:\ and e:\ etc...) along with system state?..   Well I see system state is check box is selected so thats a no brainer..  

Our server has has multiple.. local drives (C, D, and E) and I didnt know if I needed to create subclients to back these drives up?   

I know I could just run a test backup but we arent there just yet with our s3 bucket...

Thanks in advance

BC

"The default backup set contains a default subclient that is designed as a catchall and automatically detects and backs up all the data that the agent is responsible to protect. After the installation, you can create additional backup sets that also contain a default subclient.

Within a backup set, you can map one or more subclients to specific data on a computer. "

Source: https://documentation.commvault.com/11.23/expert/11666_backup_sets.html