Solved

Question about custom package remote deployment via PowerShell

• 30 August 2022
  • 7 replies

Badge +3

Hello,

I am new to CommVault and attempting to remotely deploy MediaAgents and Virtual Server Agents using a PowerShell script.

I created a custom package selecting the “Virtualization” role (Per this article: https://documentation.commvault.com/2022e/essential/135950_installation_roles_and_packages.html). I did not create a self-extracting executable file because it failed to generate one, so my package files are all contained with a folder.

The package successfully installs, but it is only installing the “File System Core” component. Even though my install.xml file explicitly says “ selectedRoles="51,713" “ which I noted are the Media Agent and Virtual Server in WinPackages.xml.

Is my install.xml not being read properly?

Here is my PowerShell one-liner:

(start-process "C:\localpath\Setup.exe" -ArgumentList '/silent /install /authcode XXXXXXXX' -Wait -NoNewWindow -PassThru).ExitCode

I also tried using this command on the local box: Setup.exe /play install.xml /silent /authcode authcode

The above looked like it kicked off a Commvault background installation process, but it disappeared after a few seconds and nothing was installed. I also tried it with “start /wait” at the beginning, and nothing at all happened.

icon

Best answer by Zer0c00L 31 August 2022, 20:11

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

@Kris Stubsten 

Badge

@Zer0c00L  - I don’t see anything on the surface that is incorrect in syntax.  I’ll run the same package and just see if I get the same result.  Can you confirm your version?

Badge +3

Hello Kris, thanks for the quick response.

The package version is 11.28.14 which it says is “Ahead of cache” (Exceeds the version of CommCell?)

CommCell version is 11.28.10 Release 2022E

I am available all day for a remote session if possible

Userlevel 7
Badge +16