Using the qoperation rest api endpoint to do (almost) anything you can do in the Gui

• 1 May 2023
  • 0 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +16

Who is this for?

This is written specifically for people who cannot find a way to do something in the rest API. 

When should I use the qoperation execute api?

If an API endpoint exists to do what you need use that, The rest api is much… much… much newer than qoperation execute and I suspect the thing that makes the rest api viable at all as a substitution for the command line is that fact that the qoperation execute api exists In other words it may be a stopgap solution. 

DISCLAIMER:

I am no expert, everything stated below is my opinion based on experience and experimentation.

With that said I  both welcome and invite criticism from those who have deeper insight and knowledge. 

This post is made solely to help those who are currently looking for solutions.

In order to be fair to the people reading this any pure speculation on my part will be placed in italics. 

That said I am quite confident that everything stated below is basically correct if not complete in scope and context. Anyone who can fill in the gaps of my knowledge will have earned my respect and gratitude.

On with the show.

One of the major problems with the rest api is that it is not exhaustive. Meaning there are probably a thousand things that are trivial to do in the gui that do not have a api endpoint equivalent. In fact you could argue that the task of making all the gui options available is both pointless and impractical. 

The good news is that  qoperation execute can in fact achieve all of the things you can do in the gui.

And by all of things the I mean making changes.. think POST or PUT not GET.

So where do we begin? First it’s instructive to look at how the rest api operates.

The diagram below gives us some valuable clues