getting started with AWS and commvault

Userlevel 2
Badge +8

We are starting a new project with everything in AWS and planning to use commvault as our backup system via AWS.   So Im still a novice with commvault and Im wondering when deploying the commvault image to an instance is it like everything wrapped up in one instance.?  Such as the commserve, media agent etc…

Or do I need to deploy various instances for each.?  Do I need a server for commservr and another one for media agent etc…?

19 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +6

We have a single image to get started here in the AWS marketplace:

https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/Commvault-Backup-Recovery-BYOL/B0725QYS9Q

You can certainly start with a minimal image and scale up as your data volumes increases.

Commvault is made of of a central command and control server (CommServe), a data mover component (MediaAgent) and one or many Access Node (which talk to your workloads)

Your MediaAgents can be separated out as data gets larger and just powered down automatically to save cost

https://documentation.commvault.com/11.22/essential/101313_cloud_mediaagent_power_management.html

Your Access Nodes can be automagically created by commvault during backup and then automagically deleted after the backup completes - so nothing to manage there at all :)

https://documentation.commvault.com/11.22/essential/111430_automatic_scaling_for_amazon_access_nodes.html

Userlevel 4
Badge +9

Hi BC1410,

You can start with one instance all in one! If you need more media agents and different plans then you can add more instances of course. 

https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/Commvault-Backup-Recovery-BYOL/B0725QYS9Q

https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/seller-profile?id=88cecb14-a8b2-49bd-ba1f-58be76108f48

Userlevel 2
Badge +8

Mathew and Alireza Thanks for both the Replies.   Great info for me.. as Im still familarizing my self with AWS and Commvault..