Solved

Postgres - pipe Log Files directly to CommVault

• 25 January 2021
  • 6 replies

Badge +2

Hello,

I'm new to CommVault, we are just starting getting it set up for production. We currently are running our backups on TSM but are preparing switching to CommVault. 

Is there a way to send completed log files directly to CommVault per pipe or other methods? That is how we do it with TSM. When a log file has been filled completely it gets piped directly into TSM. No waiting at all. The suggested method of placing the files into a separate archive with the postgres archive command doesn't appeal to us that much, it would nice to have the completed files go directly to a Log Backup instead of parking them, while you wait for CommVault to pull them.

Any suggestion would be much appreciated!

We are running on RedHat 7 with Postgres 10 and 12.

Thanks!

icon

Best answer by Edd Rimmer 25 January 2021, 15:06

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +7

Hello,

Welcome to Commvault! I’m sorry to hear we don’t match up with how TSM performs the log backups exactly, and it’s not what you are used to…

Currently there is no method to have the archive command initiate a job and pipe the archive logs - however I can advise the following:

Short term: Increase the frequency of your log backups based on the average WAL creation time - for example, run them every 5 minutes instead of every hour if required.

Long term: Feature Release 11.23 once released will bring support of Automatic Schedule for log backups. This will allow you to specify the amount of logs present or disk spaced used which when met, will automatically trigger a backup. So you could set this to trigger a backup when 1 WAL file existed for example.