Solved

Default user role

  • 26 July 2021
  • 3 replies
  • 20 views

Badge +3

Hello vaulters!

Can the privileges of the CV superuser (admin) be edited/limited to having the ability to restore a backup but not given the ability to see the backup contents?

Thanks in advance!

 

icon

Best answer by Sebastien Merluzzi 26 July 2021, 09:53

Hi RTM,

The same User needs to be able to Browse before he can Restore, so no, you cannot limit at that level.

However, you can set Privacy so only the Owner can Browse and Restore.

https://documentation.commvault.com/11.24/expert/8220_privacy_for_owners.html

Use the Privacy feature to prevent users and administrators who are not client owners from seeing the data on the client.

Using the Privacy feature for a client causes the following behavior:

  • Only a client owner may lock and unlock the client.

  • Only a client owner may access data protected on the client, for example, perform Browse and Restore, Find, and Reference Copy operations.

  • Only a client owner may add or remove other client owners.

  • Only a client owner may change his or her own user properties.

  • Locked clients have a padlock icon displayed in the CommCell Console.

Best Regards,

Seb

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +5

Hi RTM,

The same User needs to be able to Browse before he can Restore, so no, you cannot limit at that level.

However, you can set Privacy so only the Owner can Browse and Restore.

https://documentation.commvault.com/11.24/expert/8220_privacy_for_owners.html

Use the Privacy feature to prevent users and administrators who are not client owners from seeing the data on the client.

Using the Privacy feature for a client causes the following behavior:

  • Only a client owner may lock and unlock the client.

  • Only a client owner may access data protected on the client, for example, perform Browse and Restore, Find, and Reference Copy operations.

  • Only a client owner may add or remove other client owners.

  • Only a client owner may change his or her own user properties.

  • Locked clients have a padlock icon displayed in the CommCell Console.

Best Regards,

Seb

Badge +3

Hi @Seb

Thank you for your response. When you say “administrators”, these are administrator-level users aside from the default administrator user, right?

 

Userlevel 3
Badge +5

yes, correct.

Reply