Solved

Automate backup of selected VMs from a VMGroup using RESTAPI

• 13 November 2021
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +4

Hello All

We take adhoc backups every day for patching activities and we search for each and every client in Command Center and trigger incremental backups for those clients(more than 100 every day). Is there a way that we can trigger the backup for these clients using RESTAPI. Foreach through these clients and trigger the incremental backup. I was able to authenticate and generate the authentication token but cannot trigger the backups for those clients. Its my first time with RESTAPIs. Would be grateful if someone can point in the right direction. I am using PoweShell.

Thanks

icon

Best answer by Onno van den Berg 15 November 2021, 16:22

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +19

Hi Abdul,

There is a special SDK available for Powershell that can do the trick. This will save you a lot of time because there is no need to look into the API documentation. It is available on Github see: GitHub - Commvault/CVPowershellSDK: Developer SDK - Powershell

Regards,

Onno

Userlevel 2
Badge +4

Hi Abdul,

There is a special SDK available for Powershell that can do the trick. This will save you a lot of time because there is no need to look into the API documentation. It is available on Github see: GitHub - Commvault/CVPowershellSDK: Developer SDK - Powershell

Regards,

Onno

I tried PowerShell module but that is very slow and is not flexible. It gets the job done but the objects it returns lack the values that I need so I have to run multiple GET commands to prepare the command that I need to trigger the backup. For instance:

If I need to run the backup for VirtualMachine1 hosted on Hyperviser1.

• I have to first use Get-CVVirtualMachine which takes 36 seconds to return the object.