Skip to main content

Hello everyone,

I am a Solution Architect and Integrator, and I have recently been tasked with migrating our CommVault infrastructure to IaaS virtual machines on Azure. Currently, our environment consists of a CommServe installed on a Windows Server 2016 virtual machine, with a Media Agent and a proxy server each on separate Windows Server 2016 machines. My goal is to migrate the entire solution to Windows Server 2022 virtual machines on Azure, followed by upgrading the CommVault software from 11.28.117 to the last version.

It’s important to note that I was not involved in the initial installation or configuration of this CommVault solution. My mandate includes the migration, optimization for the cloud, and maximizing cost efficiency.

We are hesitant about exporting the CommVault database from our On-Premise environment and importing it into the new IaaS CommServe, mainly due to the cloud-specific security requirements that are not currently implemented on the On-Premise server. This would also require a significant amount of cleanup and adjustments to backup policies and client configurations.

As a result, we have decided to start fresh with new IaaS machines for CommServe, Media Agent, and Proxy, and to add the new clients (Windows, Linux virtual machines, SQL databases, Office 365) manually or automatically.

Here is my main question: since all lab and production machines will be moved from On-Premise to Azure Cloud, what is the best method to reintegrate the client agents (the virtual machines being moved) into the new CommServe on Azure (the new Windows machine)?