Question

Retire Client deletes CCM imported clients regardless of valid backups

  • 13 December 2023
  • 1 reply
  • 24 views

Userlevel 1
Badge +8

Hi,
I recently observed, that executing “retire client” on a CCM imported Client deleted the client resource regardless of still existing backups.

The same applies to the Workflow “retire clients”

https://cloud.commvault.com/webconsole/softwarestore/#!/136/671/22103

that can execute the retire operation on a group of clients.

Is this a product error ?
This can easily lead to a situation where clients are deleted and backups are lost even though not intended.

Observed this behavior on a V11.32 CommCell.
To solve the dataloss issue, I had to repeat the CCM export / import operations for the affected clients.

rgds
Klaus


1 reply

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

@johanningk 

Hi Johan, 

I’d strongly suggest that you raise a support incident so that we can review this in detail and confirm if it’s an edge case or product issue. 

Let me know the Case ID once it’s raised and I’ll track it / update this thread with our findings.

Let me know how it goes/any questions.

Regards,

Chris 

Reply