Skip to main content
Solved

Storage Policy: Temporary Secondary Copy

  • Jan 9, 2024 6:41 AM UTC
  • 2 replies
  • 83 views

Forum|alt.badge.img+1

Hi Team,

So our team have made a temporary third copy that is syncing from our primary copy, and we want to stop the syncing because the storage of the third copy is already full.

My questions are:

  • Is there any way to stop the synchronization of my primary and temporary third copy without disabling the Third Copy? 
  • If I disable the active status of this third copy, will I still be able to restore backups from the third copy?

Best answer by MichaelCapon

Hello @RlpCVVnt,

 

In this scenario, my suggestion would be to mark the copy inactive. - This will prevent further jobs being copied to this. Ref: https://documentation.commvault.com/v11/expert/marking_copy_as_inactive.html

This will also allow Data Aging to continue to work as expected. (Without Jobs being held due to not being copied to the third copy).

 

Best Regards,

Michael

 

View original

2 replies

MichaelCapon
Vaulter
Forum|alt.badge.img+19
  • Vaulter
  • Answer
  • Jan 9, 2024 9:00 AM UTC

Hello @RlpCVVnt,

 

In this scenario, my suggestion would be to mark the copy inactive. - This will prevent further jobs being copied to this. Ref: https://documentation.commvault.com/v11/expert/marking_copy_as_inactive.html

This will also allow Data Aging to continue to work as expected. (Without Jobs being held due to not being copied to the third copy).

 

Best Regards,

Michael

 


Forum|alt.badge.img+1
  • Author
  • Novice
  • Jan 9, 2024 10:22 AM UTC

Thank you for this information, Michael. I think this reply, answered my questions. 

Regards,
RlpCVVnt