Solved

DDB Update to V5 question - Stop backups -vs.- Temporarily Disable Dedupe

  • 16 December 2022
  • 3 replies
  • 166 views

Badge +2

Upgrading my DDB’s to V5, trying to avoid fully stopping backups while I squeeze in the upgrade. 
Is it possible to check “Temporarily Disable Deduplication”  under Dedupe Engines > [DDB name] > properties > Deduplication > advanced tab, and perform the upgrade? The DDB needs to come offline for compaction. 


Thanks in advance, Joel Bates

icon

Best answer by Collin Harper 18 December 2022, 15:17

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

Hello @Joel Bates 

I am not sure if this would work but it is worth trying.

 

Thank you,
Collin

Userlevel 2
Badge +5

Just know that when you disable deduplication you will be writing a substantial amount of data blocks to your storage. Typically 2-4 times more data written at minimum. 

Badge +2

Thanks guys! I know I’d write more data to storage without dedupe, but I wanted to understand if it was available to me if I was strapped for time.
The option would be in use for a few hours in my case, so I think the data size increase is one I can handle. I can understand this could be a problem for someone with limited space. 

Reply